|Re: [ib-support] Backup and restore of a database
> Basically, the database could be modified through a client connecting orIn that case the only thing you can do is close FB - copy
> through the interbase server dumping its cache, or whatever it does... I
> need to be sure this hasn't happened while I'm renaming the files.
file - restart FB.
Its not a model I would go for, but its safe.
It sounds as if you need some means of telling the users
that the database is unavailable, which is what switching to
exclusive mode is supposed to do. But I don't see how you
can prevent a downtime, since making changes and bringing a
new database back up will take time, during which you can
not allow any other work on the old copy.
L.S.Caine Electronic Services